Captain Nemo heads to Pinnacle Cave

So I joined Matt Heather and Kip for another trip to Pinnacle cave. It had been a couple years since the last time I’d gone. I was excited to try out the sunpak flash in a cave.

Climbing in the entrance

Climbing in the entrance

The goal of the trip was to survey more of the cave for the map that Matt is working on.  It’s been a long time coming, some of the survey for the map is older then I am! Unfortunately I wasn’t much help as the next area to be surveyed was beyond a squeeze and I didn’t fit. Matt managed to get in with a great deal of effort, both Kip and Heather found it considerably easier to fit.

Matt fits through the squeeze

Matt fits through the squeeze

I contented myself with taking a nap and photographing some of the rest of the cave while I waited.

Kip posed in front of banded marble

Kip posed in front of banded marble

We emerged after dark and made our way up the short but very steep hill to the truck. Tired but we all agreed it had been a good day.

Leave a Reply

