Rainy day in Sac-town

Rainy day in Sac-town

Down town

Down town

As winter approaches and the cold and rain begins, I find myself tired of huddling indoors and longing to travel. This weekend, I could feel the pull, but since the motorcycle is not an ideal vehicle in bad weather and the car is in need of repairs after the abuse I dealt on it this summer I was left wondering what to do. I settled on taking local transit to wander around downtown in search of something interesting. The bus and light rail ride to downtown were amusing enough as a huge variety of people rode together to reach downtown. I jumped of the train near the K st mall hoping perhaps to spot some ice skaters enjoying the rink. No luck, the Zamboni was spinning around trying to obtain a smooth finish on the thin layer of ice but the warm breeze and incoming rain didn’t bode well for ice skaters. I wandered through the mall, stopped to get something to eat at the food court before heading back out. Facing the buildings that form the Sacramento skyline I could see the dark clouds forming that would lead to the evenings rain so I decided to start taking pictures, I worked my way through Old Sacramento admiring the trains outside the railroad museum before making my way out along the I st bridge. By now it was starting to rain and I juggled my camera and my umbrella as I shot a few pics of the river and the waterfront.

 Sacramento waterfront

Sacramento waterfront

I debated heading for home but since I was already wet, I instead headed along the streets of Downtown looking for some more interesting pictures, a fire and rescue truck came barreling towards me, light and sirens blaring, then right as I pulled out my camera they shut them off. Oh well, I still got an interesting photo as they went by. As I turned away though I heard a screech of tires and looked up just in time to see a police cruiser come to a skidding halt with a bicycle on its bumper.

Sacramento evening

Sacramento evening

My first thought was they had some how run over a bicyclist! It soon became clear though that they had been transporting the bicycle on their front bumper and it had shifted prompting them to hit the brakes. I left them trying to negotiate space in the trunk as I made my way towards the Sacramento convention center.

Fire truck

Fire truck

 I took a couple of pictures of St. Pauls, then walked back past the Capital building, towards the J st bridge and then decided it was time to hop the train and head for home.

J st bridge

J st bridge

 I was tired and a little soggy but at least I had gotten out for awhile.

One thought on “Rainy day in Sac-town

  1. I think it’s great that you kept going despite of being wet and probably cold. And the result was some great pictures. I really like the downtown opening picture. Great light and lovely colours. I also think you capture the fire and rescue truck very nicely. Good colours again and the blurring makes it very dynamic.

Leave a comment