Praha

In Prague I arrived at the bus depot and was happy to find that student Agency which was the bus recommended by our organizer for getting to Brno, was at the same bus terminal so I was able to purchase my ticket to Brno. I had booked a room at the Dizzy Daisy hostel and their web page gave good directions for taking the subway from the bus station so off I went. The subway was very impressive, two sets of escalators each taking me down several stories. After dropping my bags at the hostel I set out to see the sights of Prague. Just down the street was the famed ‘dancing building’ and then I was down along the river. Here the river drops several feet so there’s an impressive set of locks to allow the boats and barges to get past.  I spent awhile watching the boats go through then made my way down the river to the bridge leading towards the castle. Here much like in Buda was the old part of town with cobbled streets, the castle, cathedral etc. I had a great time touring them all and even payed extra to climb to the top of the town tower and admire the view. The parade of people pouring across the Charles bridge was impressive to watch from on high.  Back near the hostel I stopped for dinner at a Vietnamese  restaurant. The waitress asked me what I was doing in Europe and when I showed her some pictures of caves to explain about the International Congress of Speleology I was going to attend, she very enthusiastically told me I needed to go to Vietnam next as they have lots of caves. I whole heartedly agreed as I know not only do they have lots of caves but some incredibly big ones at that.

Dancing building, Prague

Dancing building, Prague

View by the St. Charles bridge, Prague

View by the St. Charles bridge, Prague

Musicians, Prague

Musicians, Prague

Cathedral, Prague

Cathedral, Prague

Cathedral

Cathedral

Mmmm , nice cold beer after looking at all those dusty buildings.

Mmmm , nice cold beer after looking at all those dusty buildings.

Dungeon, Prague

Dungeon, Prague

The next day I chose to spend a leisurely day hanging out in the neighborhood around the hostel. I found a nearby resteraunt that had a wonderful breadand  cheese  platter. After a bite to eat I wondered around looking at the buildings and shops. I wasn’t sure what to make of the guy riding an upsidedown horsestatue in a shopping mall that I stumbled upoun. All to soon it was time to get some sleep before heading out to catch the bus to Brno.

Leave a comment