Snowless in Greenville

 

Sunrise

Sunrise

 

For the 3 day weekend this month I headed up to see James, Emily and Michael.
Last year I was greeted by a thick layer snow, this year it was no where to be found. There was a beautiful sunrise on the way up.

I stopped to take a few pics and admire the ducks getting started on their day. Once I got up the canyon,  there may not have been snow but it was certainly cold enough. there was lots of frost and ice covering the landscape.

Frosty landscape

Frosty landscape

The sun had come out and thawed most of Dog Rock by the time I reached it though

Dog Rock

Dog Rock

 

We decided to head up to the reservoir the next day to take some family pictures since Emily is pregnant and to check out the ice.

by the reservoir

by the reservoir

 

What we didn’t count on was the freezing wind so we didn’t spend very long alongside the reservoir. The waves from the wind had broken up the ice on the lake and made for an amazing sight as ice piled up along the shore. The tinkling as the ice moved sounded like hundreds of chandeliers

Ice piling up on shore

Ice piling up on shore

 

We had a little excitement on the return trip as we decided to take the long way on a forest service road- my land rover had other ideas and started to overheat! After a short break while we let it cool we were back on our way and returned to Greenville without incidence. We even continued on to Chester for dinner.

When I headed back to Sacramento I decided to take the long way and enjoy some different scenery so I headed off to lake Almanor and then over to Susanville through Reno and then on to home.  A very enjoyable weekend.

 

 

Lake AlmanorLake Almanor

 

 

Sunset at Donner pass

Sunset at Donner pass

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment