Sci-Fi lizard

scifi_lizard-X2

Sci-Fi Lizard and rider

Sci-Fi Lizard and rider

 

I spent the last weekend laying about the house trying to shake off a cold that I seem to have come down with. So since I didn’t want to go out and make anyone else sick taking new pictures was out but since schools out I didn’t have homework to keep me busy so I started browsing through my photos and came up with this Sci-Fi lizard collage.

It’s actually a little more complex then it may appear at first glance(final file was a 200mb psd) I started out with a landscape shot I took at Arches at sunrise

 

arches sunrise

arches sunrise

I decided I wanted a more rugged terrain though so I added some peaks I shot over near pinnacles national monument

 

 

Pinnacles National Monument

Pinnacles National Monument

 

I wanted a little more Sci-Fi feel so I added a moon picture I took along the American river

Moonrise on the American river

Moonrise on the American river

Of course for a sci-fi feel what could be better then a classic looking rocket ship like this one I spotted at Maker faire

Maker Faire rocket ship

Maker Faire rocket ship

Next up I added a lizard, I decided to use one that looked like someone could be riding him and this one from the Sacramento reptile expo looked perfect.

 

lizard

lizard

 

Finally I needed a model for the rider, I had a shoot of model Kat

Kat

Kat

 

but the only shot I had of her seated in the correct pose was in a swimsuit and bare feet, so I painted some boots for her.

I placed all the separate elements on different layers in photoshop so I could blend them using layer masks, then painted in shading.

lastly I tweaked the color to give it a more other worldly look and applied a painting effect.

Voila Sci-fi lizard rider.

 

lizard Rider

lizard Rider

Leave a comment