Return to Fossil Falls

Camping at Fossil Falls

Camping at Fossil Falls

Following my trip to Rainbow basin I decided to try a slightly longer trip and camp out at fossil falls. Turned out I could have picked a better weekend as it got pretty windy and with the limited shelter in the area my tent was threatening to fly away through most of the night. The night sky was beautiful though so I had fun taking pictures of the stars.

night sky

night sky

 

tent by the glow of my led headlight

tent by the glow of my led headlight

 

The next morning there was a beautiful sunrise and I was up early enough to climb around  the lava falls before it got too hot.

 

Sunrise

Sunrise

 

I even spotted a nest partway up one of the cliffs formed by the lava falls. Below which was a pile of bones.

nest

nest

bones

bones

 

colorful lichen

colorful lichen

 

I also got some great views of the nearby cinder cone before I headed home. It was a horribly windy ride through the canyon but it was an enjoyable weekend non the less.

 

cinder cone

cinder cone

 

Leave a comment