Southern China(town)

It's a dogs life

It’s a dogs life

Reading this post http://waterfallsandcaribous.com/2014/06/02/a-north-point-tour-of-hong-kong-eating-styles-roast-meat-edition/ reminded me how much I missed going to China Town In San  Francisco when I lived in Sacramento and the wonderful roast duck. A little thought on the matter made me realize it would only be a couple of hours ride on the motorcycle and I could be in Southern California’s China town next to downtown L.A and surely I’d fine delicious roast duck there. Besides it was miserably hot in Bakersfield and the coast promised to be at least a couple of degrees cooler. First I had to suffer through the heat of the valley and a horrible amount of dust in the air, but once I crossed the grapevine it was notably cooler which felt wonderful as I drove through L.A on my motorcycle. I wasn’t in a rush so I drove around the long way returning back through the garment district to finally arrive at my destination. I was pretty sure I was in the right nieghborhood when I parked across the street from this building.

Los Angeles China Town

Los Angeles China Town

I was not to be disappointed either as there were several shops with delicious bbq, noodles and dim sum, the biggest problem was choosing one.

While I wondered around and pondered my choices I had plenty of time to admire the crosswalks

China Town Crosswalk

China Town Crosswalk

and spotted some neat art on a building

Street art, LA China Town

Street art, LA China Town

and to wonder about this sign?

New High herbs Tea and imaging

New High herbs Tea and imaging

I figured out its on ‘New high street’ but does the tea make you see images or???

Someone seemed to have a warning for bears and rabbits to stay away!

bear, La China Town

bear, La China Town

Rabbit, LA China Town

Rabbit, LA China Town

This place claimed superior chicken but I was in search of roast duck so the search continues

Superior Chicken

Superior Chicken

LA, China town, in case there was any doubt I was in the wrong neighborhood

LA, China town, in case there was any doubt I was in the wrong neighborhood

Ah ha surely a place that goes by the name Hong Kong BBQ was what I was looking for.

Hong Kong BBQ

Hong Kong BBQ

and success, mMMmmm delicious.

Roast duck

Roast duck

While I’m not a huge fan of the tea eggs the baby bok choy was a delicious accompaniment.

I had a nice ride home which made for a very satisfying day out and away from the valley heat.

LA China Town

LA China Town

 

3 thoughts on “Southern China(town)

Leave a comment