L.A for the Day

This time I decided to escape the central valley heat and dust by heading West. Reaching Tejon pass on the motorcycle I was thoroughly enjoying the cooler air when I smelled smoke. I spotted a fire helicopter flying overhead and figured they were already at work fighting fires in the area. Continuing on to Santa Clarita I saw a column of thick smoke rising from a nearby hillside.

img_0682-x2 I pulled over to take a picture and while I was doing this a Sheriffs vehicle came flying up the road with lights and sirens, He pulled over long enough to ask if I saw any houses in danger then continued on up the hill to check for himself. Shortly afterwards a whole cadre of Highway patrol, fire trucks and fire crews began arriving. I decided to clear out and avoid being in their way so I was heading towards L.A again.

img_0695-x2

I took surface streets down towards North Hollywood and by then I was getting pretty hungry so I pulled over at Joe’s Felafels in Universal City.

img_0708-x2

I love the fact they had a pita oven behind the counter so you can watch the fresh pita being pulled out before its brought to your table. Mmmm.

I continued on surface streets over to Sunset then headed West through Beverly hills and on to Venice Beach. Here the traffic was thick so I parked several blocks back from the beach and enjoyed the walk.Ā img_0720-x2

 

I hung out at the beach for a couple hours then I decided to head South. I found a hill overlooking the south side of LAX which gave an excellent vantage for plane watching I hung out for a little while watching the planes take off and land.

I knew it would be getting to sunset time soon so I hopped back on the bike and cruised over to Hermosa beach.

My last stop in L.A was back up Mulholland drive to enjoy the famous view of the lights of the city.

img_1069-x2

Though I did stop again in Santa Clarita where I was saddened to see the fire was still raging though fire crews were still hard at work.

img_1081-x2 Soon I was out of the smoke though and heading back into the stifling warm air of the valley. At least I’d had a nice day away from it šŸ™‚

Check out the rest of the Gallery here.

Leave a comment