Summer in Susanville

img_1100-x2 Since this years NSS convention was being held in Ely Nevada which is North East from Bakersfield and my parents had decided to go with me, we opted to take the long way around and head a little further North to see my brother and his family in Susanville first. It was a long drive but leaving the 100 F degree temps of the valley for the cooler mountain air made it an enjoyable trip.

We went out to dinner at ‘whitehouse‘ a local Thai restaurant, food was tasty though a little sweeter then I’m used to. Saturday, Emily suggested a trip to Subway cave up near Hat creek and I readily agreed.Unfortunately Michael wasn’t feeling well so he and his Grandma Meg stayed home. When we told Mathew we were going to see a cave he proclaimed “I must wear my batman shirt” and ran off to change. It had been a few years since I visited Subway (pretty sure it was during the Western Regional at Hat Creek in 1999) and I had forgotten the stairs going up and into the cave. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves, Mathew ran all over but we could spot him easily enough as his shoes flashed in the dark. Alice seemed plenty happy and it was nice and cool in the cave compared to how warm it was outside.

We stopped on the way home to look at some wild flowers and spotted a young buck in the trees.

 

All too soon the weekend was over and it was time for us to head onward to convention but that’s another post.

Leave a comment