North by rail

img_7391-x3

Since I wound up travelling to Seattle on somewhat short notice for my Uncles memorial, airfare was pretty expensive so I decided to travel by train. As it turned out several of my family members decided to as well so there were quite a few of us onboard. Travelling by train is not for everyone. It’s a 30+ hour journey from Southern Cal to Seattle and I opted to keep it as inexpensive as possible by sleeping in my seat. Fortunately my parents and my Aunt and Uncle opted for sleeper cars so they were a little more comfortable and had meals. I brought plenty of snacks since the train fare for those of us not in the sleeper cars seemed pretty expensive for what you got.

I enjoy travelling by train as there’s plenty to see and room to get up and stretch, I was feeling pretty tired by the time we arrived though.

We picked up a rental van and spent the night at a motel near the airport since that was where we could get a rental vehicle late at night. The next morning we headed to the small community where my Uncle had retired.

The memorial service was well attended and it was obvious my uncle had made an impression on the community though he had only lived there for a few years. People from the local ham radio club, church members as well as his family and freinds were in attendance. We spent the afternoon at his house where it was obvious why he’d picked this place, from the ample space for his radio arial to the large trees deer strolling the property, this was a place he’d fit right in. In the evening we joined my cousin and her family for dinner at a Chinese restaurant back in the city.

img_7734-x3

The next day we opted to do some site seeing by riding the ferry. It was a cool day and very overcast but it was warm inside the boat so we were fine.

After driving around the island a little it even warmed up enough to make ice cream sound good.

The next day we had to catch our train for the long journey home.

 

 

Leave a comment