Florida caving

So after returning from Mexico I started packing in preparation for SPF2008. I was heading off to Florida for the annual convention on the national speleological society. SPF2008, because after all you can’t get better sun protection then a cave! Hence, Speleo Paradise Florida. I flew into Jacksonville Florida, and after a little site seeing and a kayak trip on a tributary of the St. Johns river I headed to Lake City for the convention. There, I had a great time meeting up with several cavers I know as well as new ones. I attended a lot of interesting sessions about caves and cave exploration. We did sneak off for long enough to do some cavern diving in Ginnie Springs and to take a tour of the Lubee Bat Conservancy. I even won a couple of ribbons for pictures I entered in the print salon.

Jacksonville Sunrise

Jacksonville Sunrise

Ginnie Springs

Ginnie Springs

Fruit Bat

Fruit Bat

Print salon

Print salon

After the convention I drove down to Crystal river for a chance to swim with the manatees and do a little snorkeling in Three Sisters springs. Swimming with the manatees was an awesome experience. The first two we spotted were shy and swam off, not hard to explain when we saw the propeller marks on the backs of one of them. It wasn’t long though till we spotted some more who were friendly and even swam up to us the have their bellies rubbed!

You can see the rest of my Florida pics at Captain Nemos Pics of Florida.

Manatee

Manatee

My summer adventures aren’t over yet. I’ll post about the rest later though.

-Capt. Nemo

Captain Nemo’s home

Leave a comment