Speleo-Ed

Kaweah river

Kaweah river

Just a few days after returning from my travels to the Bay area and Greenville, it was time to dig out my camping gear and load up the car to head out to Sequoia National park for Speleo-Ed! We were camping at Lodgepole which is fairly high elevation and due to the strange weather this year, there was still snow up there. Matt assured us though that there were clear areas to camp.

campsite

campsite

He turned out to be correct and even though it was after dark when I arrived I had no problem finding a clear spot to pitch my tent, I did have to drive over a snow bank to park my car though.

We had some great topics for speleo-ed, the hardest part was deciding which to attend. Then after a morning of interesting lectures. We had the afternoon to enjoy the park, several of us headed up to check out Tokopah falls. A short hike from our campground, made a bit longer by all the snow drifts we had to get around, it was a very impressive waterfall since all the snow melt was keeping the water flowing at full force.

Blue Jay

Blue Jay

Tokopah falls

Tokopah falls

That night we had a great dinner cooked by Kadean and Marc with their helpers, followed of course by schnapps tasting and a cheesy movie.

And we were greeted in the morning with a fair bit of snow that fell in the night.

Hungry Cavers

Hungry Cavers

Snowy Campsite

Snowy Campsite

Still, my bug made it down the mountain safely, another wonderful  weekend!

Snowy bug

Snowy bug

Leave a comment