40 years of caving

Over 40 years of caving

Over 40 years of caving

A while back my Dad gave me some slides to scan of a trip he and Mom had gone on to Timpanogos cave in Utah. One of my favorites showed my Mom holding a bundled blanket while in the cave. There I was at two months old on my first cave trip. I decided that if I ever went to Utah I had to visit Timpanogos and find the location of that photo. When I decided to attend This years NSS convention in Colorado, I figured I could drive through Utah and finally make the trip. Ric also decided to drive to the convention so we rode together. We arrived at Timpanogo’s  Nat. park in the afternoon and headed up to cascade springs where we saw some excellent examples of travertine deposits. The next morning we got an early start for the steep hike up to the cave and enjoyed a great tour of not one but three caves, connected by man made passages. Our guide, Molly was very entertaining and knew exactly where the picture of my mom was taken making it fairly easy to find the spot and then have Ric take my photo there.

From Timpanogos we were back on the road and on our way to the convention in Glenwood Springs, Colorado..

Timpanogos Alpine meadow

Timpanogos Alpine meadow

 

 

Cascade springs

Cascade springs

 

Timpanogos cave

Timpanogos cave

2 thoughts on “40 years of caving

  1. Pingback: NSS convention Glenwood Springs, Colorado « Captain Nemo's log

Leave a comment