On my way to Yosemite

Red Rock Road.

Red Rock Road. How’d they ever come up with that name?

Heading out from Susanville I had a fairly lengthy ride ahead of me so I decided to make a few stops to break it up. First up was a Short trip along red rock road, Next was a little site seeing going over the mountains through emigrant gap. a little chilly as there was still plenty of snow up there but the scenery was beautiful.

Snow covered peaks

Snow covered peaks

View from Emigrant Gap

View from Emigrant Gap

 

I then cut through the central valley and spotted a castle as I cruised along.

Castle

Castle

While I stopped to admire the castle some cows were checking me out.

Curious cows

Curious cows

As I headed on towards Yosemite it was getting dark so I pulled in at the Yosemite bug Hostel for the night. It was a busy night and there weren’t a lot of parking spaces open but I was able to squeeze my bike in by a telephone pole and check into a tent cabin for the night.

 

Yosemite Bug Hostel

Yosemite Bug Hostel

I love staying here, they have a great cafe with good food, a lounge where you can relax with other travelers by the fireplace and a full kitchen if you want to prepare your own food. Plus its only a short drive into Yosemite in the morning.

I arrived at the park to a long line of cars waiting to get in as it was a free park weekend but since I was on the bike they waved me on up to the front of the line and I cruised along to see the sites.

Yosemite Valley

Yosemite Valley

At one stop I saw a man trying to photograph his family so i offered to take a shot with all of them in it, in exchange he shot a couple of me!

riding in Yosemite

riding in Yosemite

Deer

Deer

Yosemite Falls

Yosemite Falls

Motorcycles

Motorcycles

On my way out of the park I parked behind a group of motorcycles, turned out they were a friendly group up from the bay area to enjoy a weekend cruise through the park.

I took my time driving through the mountain roads as I was in no hurry to return to the warm weather in the valley but I still made it to Selma for dinner time at the Spike and Rail and then I just had a straight cruise down 99 back to Bakersfield and home.

Spike and Rail  (formerly known as Split Pea Anderson s)

Spike and Rail (formerly known as Split Pea Anderson s)

 

Leave a comment