Night in the City of Angels

L.A at night

L.A at night

Since I was driving down to the airport at LAX to drop off my parents I decided to make an evening of it  and drive around taking some pictures.

Venice at night

Venice at night

My first stop was Venice beach. It certainly has a different vibe at night. I especially enjoyed taking pictures of bicyclists going by with led’s in their spokes as the long exposures made for some interesting shots.

Bicyclist at Venice beach

Bicyclist at Venice beach

Even the Murals and graffiti take on a different appearance at night.

Mural with graffiti

Mural with graffiti

St. Mark Mural, Venice Beach

St. Mark Mural, Venice Beach

Touch of Venice Mural

Touch of Venice Mural

Next I headed down towards an inlet.

Waterway inlet

Waterway inlet

Here I spotted this Pelican.

Pelican

Pelican

and while taking the pelicans picture I was lucky enough to spot a night Heron.

Night Heron

Night Heron

I then headed towards downtown Los Angeles, hoping to get a skyline shot.

I worked my way through the garment district and wound up in some sketchy neighborhood.

Right after I took the picture at the top of the post several police cars came speeding past and then were questioning someone just up ahead. I also became aware of huge numbers of homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk on the numerous side streets,  so that was enough for one night, I made my way back to the freeway and headed home.

2 thoughts on “Night in the City of Angels

Leave a comment