Grey Lodge visited by Captain Nemo

January is coming to an end. Hope everyone is having a good start to the new year. Thanks to Sacramento digital photography meetup, I learned of a new photo spot this month. They had a meetup scheduled for a sunday afternoon, I decided since it was a bird refuge to head out early and try my luck with the birds before sunrise. I was glad I did, the moon was still up and I had a great time getting several pictures in the morning quiet. Well not exactly quiet. It’s hunting season so the surrounding area was full of gun fire all morning long. The nature viewing area was very nice. Two buildings that serve as blinds overlook the water. There’s a three mile driving loop and a 2.5 mile walking trail.

Grey Lodge geese

Grey Lodge geese

You can see the rest of the pictures I took here >Grey Lodge preserve

The rest of the meetup group showed up that afternoon and it really was a pleasant time waiting for the birds to return at sunset.

full moon

full moon

turkey vulture

turkey vulture

great egret

great egret

sunset

sunset

Leave a comment